Texas Cabin Stove Completed

I completed this stove this past month. Test runs were very positive. Some very high winds pointed out some chimney height issues but will rectify them in the next week. I opted for a solid 1/4 inch “floating” top. In an attempt to make it more rigid I welded some angle iron on the bottom. This actually induced some warp. That is the reason for the weights. Hoping the heat and weight would help flatten it out. Did not work. But for its primary purpose of producing heat it works great. And flat enough to heat water and such.Will deal with the warp issue at a later date. I have a ton of build pictures. Will post them as well. Not sure how many I can stick in one post.

Daniel

3 Likes

First off, I am a machinist and bladesmith. I have a good collection of metalworking tools and was able to fabricate all items myself. Except for the doors, grate and such that I purchased from Firespeaking. I also have a large tile/brick saw that was indispensable. Even with that, there where some things just barely possible with what I had. Cutting an accurate chimney hole in the top plate was one of them. As Max told me, this is like putting together a Swiss watch. Being my first time, I had a general idea but many times steps 3 and 4 were not obvious until I had done 1 and 2. More than once I sat indulging in my addiction (dark chocolate covered almonds) while just staring at the whole mess.
BASE
I have massive monolithic concrete slab. 5" thick with 12" wide x 30" deep integral concrete beams next to the stove build base. I put down a layer of leveling mud and topped it with concrete board. Put the first layer of exterior brick down and filled the space with 2" thick Insblok. It is 1900 degree mineral wool board I had left over from a propane forge build. This is to help keep the slab from sucking heat out of the base. Also topped it with concrete board. The Insblock will suck up water if given the chance.
I think the pictures explain the rest.